Skip to content

So I'm Shooting. Gotta Get My Ish Together.

December 15, 2009

So I’m finally shooting something.  I got the greenlight.  Now the only one that can screw up stuff is me.  Dope.

I’m going in 5 weeks.  So why am I blogging?  ‘Cause I don’t feel like making phone calls right now.  This 40hr work week has me feeling like somebody’s grandpa.  Having done straight for about 2 months, now, I see why most people just come home, eat a sandwich, make babies (if they’re lucky) and go to sleep.  This stuff is stressful and taxing.  But that’s why I left MD–to attempt to go the distance.

The holidays have approached and it doesn’t feel like Christmas at all–probably because I’m away from family for the first time, spending my days in a red t-shirt, hocking technology of various kinds to people.

Cell phone cases that are nearly all the same in some form or fashion.  Car stereo adapters.  I answer questions for self-important, often lazy people.  Good people, too.  Inquisitive people.  Bothersome people.  People that get their kicks by displaying their technological-savvy to people that don’t care to be impressed by their knowledge.  Pushy people.  Germy people.  European people that don’t speak English well, lean into your face too closely to ask you a question, then lean closer when you back away.  Questions I’ve answered over and over and over and over again for hours on end.  Walking around a store for hours on end trying to “position” things to people, many of whom aren’t even there to buy anything I might be considering selling them.  Smiling.  Fist-bumping.  Feeling like a bother.  Not wanting to be bothered.  But it’s work.  It’s teaching me patience, it’s teaching me how to sell stuff and it’s way way better than being unemployed, I think.

5 days a week.  11 hours a day, I am a slave.  Then, I come home and must pre-produce.  Cook.  Clean.  Launder.  I try to get my shit together.  This is what life is like.  Time is the greatest asset that I have and the only thing that I can use to make any moves with.  I need to move.

I need to–

– Lock my locations

– Lock this bloody script – which I feel good about even though it needs some work

– Lock the “heads” of each section of my crew

– Call around about getting free food w/ my nonprofit status (through my fiscal sponsor)

Fortunately, I have actors.  Talented actors.  I think we’ll collaborate greatly.

I need crewmembers.  When you’re out of school, crew costs.  It’s not like at film school, where everyone is helping each other out in an effort to gain favors.  People need to get paid for the time and rightly so.  But do I have the bread?  Not sure.  Hopefully people will still lend a hand.  I’ll at least have good sandwiches.

So much to do.  5 weeks will sneak up on you, too.  I gotta get going but all I wanna do is sleep.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabe d. permalink
    December 20, 2009 1:00 am

    Just another BK Filmmaker? Poor title choice. How about THE Brooklyn Filmmaker.

  2. tjetter permalink*
    December 27, 2009 3:40 pm

    i feel like that’s way too pretentious. and a little misleading.

Leave a Reply

