Skip to content

WTF, Kanye, WTF?

October 18, 2009

Let me start by saying that I generally consider myself pretty avant-garde tolerant.  I like it when people experiment, play with form and use media in “unconventional” ways.

I’ve seen films that consist of montages of penises juxtaposed against the sounds of explosions, radio dispatches and screaming Vietnamese orphans.  I’ve seen shit that’s just a bunch of light-leaked film clips cut frame-by-frame-by-frame morphing into a strobe-like display  that will make you think you’re going to seize.  Brakhage.  Schneeman.  Other folks that have both intrigued and weirded me the hell out.

I am no avant-garde people bigot.  I have avant-garde friends.  But this Kanye-Spike (Jonze) collab is something I just can’t understand.

What do people think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

