Skip to content

What’s That, Another Murder in Bed-Stuy? Why, No–It’s Just Part of Michael Moore’s Advertising Campaign!

October 6, 2009

I love Brooklyn. It’s a great place to live. Unfortunately, I think BK (especially east BK–Bed-Stuy, Bushwick, East NY, Brownsville, Cypress Hills, Etc.) has gotten a bad rap because of the working-class crime that’s taken place there, especially in the late 80s/early 90s.

These days, however, a lot of Central-East BK, especially Bed-Stuy, is gentrifying rapidly. It’s still not without the occasional armed robbery or homicide, the shady loiterers, abandoned buildings, etc. etc., but whatever. I’d rather be here than in Williamsburg. Bed-Stuy has flavor. :-p

While leaving my apartment the other day I stumbled upon some yellow police tape strewn about some of the more dilapidated buildings on my block. First thought–“damn, not again.” Closer inspection, however, revealed that the tape was actually a ploy on the part of the promotional team for Michael Moore’s new film, “Capitalism: A Love Story.

To be honest, I don’t particularly like what I feel it suggests about the neighborhood, but I bet it caught the eyes of the folks that have moved into the uppity-looking condos next door. It surely caught mine. Smart Marketing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

