Skip to content

Temporary Standstill

September 16, 2009

Long story.  But the thesis short–or at least “A Reasonable Doubt” is not happening.  I’m about 85%…no, 95% sure.

The run-down–I can’t afford to do it outside of NYU and the school won’t give me approval to do the film using the school’s rig/insurance (as was promised to me months ago) because the requirements for our production (as we’d seen them) have since been seen to pose a potentially huge insurance liability for the school, something which wouldn’t been an issue until a tragic accident where an NYU student from my year was electrocuted to death on an advanced-level shoot in May, resulting in what appears to be a fuckload of legal ramifications both for NYU’s undergrad (and grad) film program.  Word on the street is that if another incident happens this year (not even necessarily a death) and it might be curtains for the illustrious film program at Tisch school of the Arts.  So it looks like I’m going to have to go back to the drawing board…after a fucking year of planning, writing, deliberating, skipping hanging out, etc.

But it might have been for the best.  I don’t know that I would have had the money to pull off what I was trying to do in the first place.  The idea seemed simple enough.  Two plainclothes police officers interrogate a pedestrian that may or may not be doing something wrong.  Still, had I shot this past weekend as planned, I would have likely lost a night to rain (that’s also a night of shooting) and would have had to do reshoots.  That would have been fun to re-organize.  But then I have other reasons, too.  Whatever.  It’s a good script and I’ll save it.  It’s not going anywhere.

Then, too I wouldn’t be trying to do if I didn’t have other ideas.  And I do.  One of which I think I’ll try and do before the year is out.  Something nice, short, sweet and in my apartment, where I can control everything.

In the mean time, just trying to stay motivated.  Nearly finished the cut of the Nyle video and I’m feeling good about it.  Just need to line up some more projects to stay busy and keep fattening up that reel.  But like I said, I’m chock full of ideas, just need to make the means to execute.

Speaking of Means

The job situation is rough.  So rough, in fact that I took a MegaBus (which is bomb) home to D.C. this past weekend to see about some freelance work that I’d recently become privy to.  If I can get a gig here, it’d be worth my making the weekly trip.  Until then, it looks like I’ll be finding freelance stuff here and there–seems like everything’s dried up in the city that never sleeps.

But that’s what it is.  Everyone with a Bachelor’s degree is in the same boat.  Hell, even some people with Master’s degrees are.  Just gotta keep it moving, that’s all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

